Auto Insurance

New Laws Take Affect Now

Lawmakers approved 206 bills into law during the 2021 legislative session. 201 were signed into law by Governor DeSantis. Most of the new laws were effective July 1, or October 1 of 2021. There are a few remaining which will go into effect January 1, 2021.

Insurance (SB 292)

Insurance carriers are actually required to give a “loss run statement” within 15 days of an itemized request from policyholders. What the law states also prohibits insurance carriers from charging fees for preparing or annually providing single loss-run statements.

“This is perfect for the great from the consumer. It will require that insurance agents tend to be more responsive,” says Ellsworth Buck, V . p . of Insurance, Florida's largest independent auto insurance agency.

Greyhound racing

Amendment 13 ends greyhound racing at pari-mutuel facilities. This effectively brings a finish to greyhound racing. National Geographic reports the Amendment was brought about by critics of the sport who contend that dog racing is cruel and inhumane, Floridians agree.

Election (HB1005)

This bill allows county canvassing boards and supervisors of elections to use automated tabulating equipment that is not area of the voting systems to conduct machine and manual recounts. The balance also requires testing of voting equipment to occur at least 25 days prior to the oncoming of early voting, correcting a provision which had voting systems being tested for accuracy after the canvassing of vote-by-mail ballots had begun.

School buses (HB 37)

This law increases penalties for hazardous drivers whenever a bus is stopped to load and unload children. Fines will increase to $200 minimum for motorist who fail to stop for college buses. A minimum of $400 pays by drivers who pass stopped school buses on the side where children enter and exit.

“No one is likely to argue about stiffer penalties to protect children's welfare,” says Ellsworth Buck, V . p . of Insurance, Florida's top independent car insurance agency.

Ethics (HB7009)

The Florida Senate website describes this bill as, penalties for violations from the constitutional prohibition against abuse of public position. It addresses the misuse of public officials and employees who use their office to profit themselves, their families or employers. Two other areas from the amendment still require legislative actions and aren't set to become law until December 31, 2022.

In addition to newer and more effective bills taking affect now, there's a small gain in the minimum wage. Florida's minimum wage will increase to $8.65 on Friday. The minimum wage for tipped workers will be $5.63 an hour.

The overall minimum wage, however, will jump in September due to a constitutional amendment which was approved in November by voters to eventually set the wage at $15 an hour or so. The wage increases to $10 on Sept. 30 and incrementally increases every year until reaching $15 on Sept. 30, 2026.